ancaster Get started — free
Proton Direct apply Global

Up to 100% commission on new sign-ups, tiered down on renewals

Proton offers encrypted email, VPN, calendar, and other privacy-respecting communication tools

Proton pays up to 100% commission on new monthly sign-ups, 40% on 1-2 year plans, roughly 30% on renewals (exact tiers vary by plan), through a program you apply to directly. There is no reward for the referred customer. Verified 24 Aug 2026 from Proton's own published material.

Paid when
Referred customer signs up and completes a qualifying subscription purchase.
Payment delay
Commissions accrue and are paid on the 30th of the calendar month following the sale, once the balance exceeds $100
Minimum payout
$100 (commission is held over until the accrued total exceeds $100)
Click counts for
Not published on Proton's official pages. Third-party aggregators (unverified) claim a 30-day cookie.
Your commission
Up to 100% commission on new monthly sign-ups, 40% on 1-2 year plans, roughly 30% on renewals (exact tiers vary by plan)
Customer incentive
Nothing

The terms that decide whether you get paid

Paid whenReferred customer signs up and completes a qualifying subscription purchase.
DurationNot a one-time payout: the published commission table itself pays a rate on renewals (roughly 30%) as well as on the initial new sign-up, so commissions continue for as long as the referred customer keeps paying, not just on the first sale. No separate cap on the number of months/years this runs is published.
Attribution windowNot published on Proton's official pages. Third-party aggregators (unverified) claim a 30-day cookie.
Payment delayCommissions accrue and are paid on the 30th of the calendar month following the sale, once the balance exceeds $100
Payment scheduleMonthly, via direct bank transfer on the 30th of the next calendar month
Minimum payout$100 (commission is held over until the accrued total exceeds $100)
Payout formDirect bank transfer
Important
A front-loaded tiered structure (up to 100% on new monthly sign-ups, tapering to roughly 30% on renewals) is a strong, unusual structure for a privacy-focused consumer product with broad name recognition, and it pays on renewals rather than only on the first sale. Enrollment is direct through Proton's own four-step application form, with no third-party network involved. Real gaps remain: no cookie/attribution window, self-referral policy, customer-status requirement, clawback rule, or approval timeline is published for this program (a separate Proton Referral Program, for existing customers referring friends, does ban self-referral and requires an active subscription, but its terms are not stated to apply to this partner/affiliate program).
Corrected August 26, 2026: the program had moved from a flat 20% recurring rate to a tiered, front-loaded structure — up to 100% on new monthly sign-ups, 40% on 1-2 year plans, roughly 30% on renewals — confirmed live at proton.me/partners, which markets it as "one of the highest commission rates in the industry."

What you would be selling

Front-loaded tiered commission on a widely recognized privacy email/VPN brand, run directly through Proton's own partner portal (partners.proton.me) rather than a third-party network — up to 100% on new monthly sign-ups, tapering to roughly 30% on renewals — with payout mechanics (schedule, minimum, form) now confirmed but cookie window and approval process still undisclosed.

Proton is one brand with 2 products, bought by different people. What one converted customer is worth cannot be worked out for any of them: that needs a rate, a plan price and a commission window, and this program does not publish all three.

Not published
Not every figure needed is published.
vpn Flagship
Proton VPN
Privacy-focused VPN service protecting internet traffic with secure tunneling and leak protection — ensures online privacy through encrypted connections hiding IP address and browsing activity.
Bought by Privacy-conscious internet users
VPN Plus
Not published
Not every figure needed is published.
vpn
Proton Mail & Suite
Unified privacy suite combining encrypted email, VPN, calendar, contacts, and secure file storage — a comprehensive privacy platform for encrypted communications and data protection.
Bought by Privacy-focused email and collaboration users
Proton Plus

Everything Proton publishes about how the commission is earned and paid. A term shown as not researched is one Proton does not publish, not one that does not apply.

How it pays
Route inApply directly through a four-step application form (Account details, User details, Additional questions, User agreement) at proton.me/partners/affiliates/join; no third-party affiliate network is involved.
DurationNot a one-time payout: the published commission table itself pays a rate on renewals (roughly 30%) as well as on the initial new sign-up, so commissions continue for as long as the referred customer keeps paying, not just on the first sale. No separate cap on the number of months/years this runs is published.
Payment delayCommissions accrue and are paid on the 30th of the calendar month following the sale, once the balance exceeds $100
Payment scheduleMonthly, via direct bank transfer on the 30th of the next calendar month
Minimum payout$100 (commission is held over until the accrued total exceeds $100)
Payout formDirect bank transfer
Restrictions
·Exact tier percentages by plan length not published on the official page
Customer pricing
Proton offers free tiers for email and VPN, with paid plans bundling services.
Free$0 · limited email storage, VPN access
Proton Plus$9.99/month · mail + VPN + calendar + storage
Proton Business$15.99/month · business email with custom domains
Proton Visionary$25.99/month · all services, family plan
Verified
Read from Proton's own published material on . Figures change without notice — quote this date alongside any figure.
Sources
proton Official Affiliate ↗Proton Partners Program (sign-up, terms, payment details) ↗
Affiliate program details from official sources.
Researched 24 August 2026.
Product line researched and descriptions added August 25, 2026 from proton.me/pricing.
Attribution window, payout terms and approval time researched on August 26, 2026.
Re-verified 27 September 2026 against proton.me/partners/affiliates: payment schedule, minimum payout, and payout form confirmed directly; program is run through Proton's own partner portal, not a named third-party network (prior 'Impact' network claim removed as unverifiable). Cookie/attribution window, self-referral, customer-status, clawback, and approval-process details remain unpublished.
How this programme compares to its rivals was written on August 26, 2026, from the verified terms above.
Further checked on September 27, 2026 against proton.me/partners/affiliates/join: sign-up is a direct four-step application form with no named third-party network, confirming 'enroll: direct' and 'network: null.' The commission table itself shows a renewal rate (about 30%), confirming commissions are not a one-time payout. A separate Proton Referral Program (proton.me/legal/terms-referral-program, for existing customers referring friends for account credit) explicitly bans self-referral and requires an active subscription, but nothing on Proton's site states these rules also govern the partner/affiliate program covered by this record, so those specific mechanics fields were left null rather than filled from the other program's terms.
Checked proton.me/partners/affiliates again on September 27, 2026 specifically for any discount or credit offered to the referred customer, and found none stated; that field is recorded as read and silent rather than left open.
Read, and not published
Proton’s own material was read on these and says nothing. That is the answer: a program that does not state a term is not bound by one.
Self-referral
Must you be a customer
Clawback
Where it pays
Customer incentive
Approval
Citing this page
Ancaster, “Proton affiliate terms”. Verified 24 August 2026. https://ancaster.io/offers/proton

How this was verified

Verified
Read from Proton's own published material on . Figures change without notice — quote this date alongside any figure.

The re-verification note

We read Proton's terms on 2026-08-24. Programs change a rate, a cookie window or a payment threshold without announcing it — we re-read them and send one note a week saying what moved.

One note a week, every figure dated and linked to its source. Unsubscribe in one click; we never sell or share the address.